• This website sets cookies on your device. To find out more about how we use cookies please refer to our Privacy and Cookie Policy. By continuing to use the site, we’ll assume that you are content for us to set these on your device.
  • Close
Home > About the Bank > People & Biographies

People & Biographies

The Governors and Executive Directors of the Bank form the Executive Team which is responsible for the executive management of the Bank.
All four Governors represent the Bank externally, including domestically through appearances in front of the Treasury Committee and internationally through membership of key international committees and groupings and regularly speak publicly on issues covering the overall economy, monetary policy and financial stability. The Chief Operating Officer (COO) has responsibility for all aspects of the day-to-day management of the Bank, including Human Resources, Finance, Property, IT and Security. The COO has status and remuneration equivalent to the three Deputy Governors.


Mark Carney
​Mark Carney
Charles Bean Sir Jon Cunliffe Andrew Bailey Charlotte Hogg

Charles Bean
Deputy Governor, Monetary Policy

​​Sir Jon Cunliffe
Deputy Governor, Financial Stability

​​Andrew Bailey
Deputy Governor, Prudential Regulation CEO of the PRA

Charlotte Hogg
Chief Operating Officer

Executive Directors

Julian Adams Nils Blythe Ralph Coates Spencer Dale
Julian Adams
Deputy Head of the PRA & Executive Director, Insurance​
Nils Blythe
Executive Director, Communications
Ralph Coates
Executive Director,
Spencer Dale
Executive Director, Monetary Analysis & Statistics
Chief Economist
John Finch Paul Fisher John Footman Andrew Gracie
John Finch
Executive Director, Information Services
& Chief Information Officer​
Paul Fisher
Executive Director,
John Footman
Secretary of the Bank
Andrew Gracie
Executive Director, Special Resolution
Andy Haldane Graham Nicholson
Joanna Place
Chris Salmon
Andy Haldane
Executive Director, Financial Stability
Graham Nicholson
Chief Legal Adviser
 to the Governor
Joanna Place
Executive Director,
Human Resources
Chris Salmon
Executive Director, Banking Service Chief Cashier
Jenny Scott
Jenny Scott
Adviser to the
​Deputy Head of the PRA & Executive Director, Policy
To be appointed