Skip to main content
  • This website sets cookies on your device. To find out more about how we use cookies please refer to our Privacy and Cookie Policy. By continuing to use the site, we’ll assume that you are content for us to set these on your device.
  • Close
Home > About the Bank > Members of the Monetary Policy Committee (MPC)

Members of the Monetary Policy Committee (MPC)

MPC image
The Bank’s Monetary Policy Committee sets interest rates to meet the Government’s 2% inflation target.

It has nine members, of which five are Bank staff including The Governor, three Deputy Governors and the Chief Economist.

Four members of the Committee are independent experts chosen from outside the Bank, selected for their experience in economics and monetary policy.

Mark Carney
Mark Carney - Governor 
Term of appointment: 1 July 2013 - 30 June 2021

Mr Carney has announced that he will serve to 30 June 2019.
Ben Broadbent
Ben Broadbent  - Deputy Governor, Monetary Policy
Term of appointment: 1 July 2014 - 30 June 2019
Sir Jon Cunliffe

Sir Jon Cunliffe - Deputy Governor, Financial Stability
Term of appointment: 1 November 2013 - 31 October 2018

Andy Haldane

Andrew Haldane - Executive Director, Monetary Analysis & Chief Economist
Term of appointment: 1 June 2014 - 31 May 2017

Charlotte Hogg

Charlotte Hogg - Deputy Governor, Markets & Banking and Chief Operating Officer
Term of appointment: 1 March 2017 - 28 February 2022

14 March 2017 - Bank of England response to the resignation of Charlotte Hogg

Kristin Forbes
Kristin Forbes- External member
Term of appointment: 1 July 2014 - 30 June 2017
Ian McCafferty
Ian McCaffertyExternal member 
Term of appointment: 1 September 2012 - 31 August 2018

Michael Saunders Michael Saunders - External member 
Term of appointment: 9 August 2016 - 9 August 2019
Dr Gertjan Vlieghe - External member
Term of appointment: 1 September 2015 - 31 August 2018