Skip to main content
  • This website sets cookies on your device. To find out more about how we use cookies please refer to our Privacy and Cookie Policy. By continuing to use the site, we’ll assume that you are content for us to set these on your device.
  • Close
Home > Banknotes > Chief Cashiers

Chief Cashiers

The first Chief Cashier, John Kendrick, was appointed in 1694, the year the Bank was founded. The role has always been paramount in the issuance of our banknotes and since 1870 the Chief Cashier has been the sole signatory on Bank of England banknotes.

Victoria Cleland, the current Chief Cashier explains a bit more about the role...

Victoria Cleland, Chief Cashier"My role covers far more than signing the banknotes. As Chief Cashier and Director of Notes, I am responsible for meeting public demand for banknotes and maintaining confidence in the physical currency. This includes seeking to ensure that we have the right number and denominational mix of good quality banknotes in circulation, and through introducing secure 'state of the art' banknotes, the public have confidence the banknotes they receive are genuine.

This involves working closely with a range of key players in the cash industry including, the members of the Note Circulation Scheme, financial institutions, retailers, Cash in Transit (CiT) companies and with banknote suppliers."

Secure 'state of the art' banknotes

Note Circulation Scheme

The full list of Chief Cashiers can be seen in the table below.

​Victoria Cleland ​2014-
​Chris Salmon ​2011-2014
​Andrew Bailey ​2004-2011
​Merlyn Lowther ​1999-2003
​Graham Kentfield ​1991-1998
​Malcolm Gill ​1988-1991
​David Somerset ​1980-1988
​John Page ​1970-1980
​John Fforde ​1966-1970
​Jasper Hollom ​1962-1966
​Leslie O'Brien ​1955-1962
​Percival Beale ​1949-1955
​Kenneth Peppiatt ​1934-1949
​Basil Catterns ​1929-1934
​Patrick Mahon ​1925-1929
​Ernest Harvey ​1918-1925
​Gordon Nairne ​1902-1918
​Horace Bowen ​1893-1902
​Frank May ​1873-1893
​George Forbes ​1866-1873
​William Miller ​1864-1866
​Matthew Marshall ​1835-1864
​Thomas Rippon ​1829-1835
​Henry Hase ​1807-1829
​Abraham Newland ​1778-1807
​Charles Jewson ​1775-1777
​Daniel Race ​1759-1775
​Daniel Race and Elias Simes (jointly) ​1751-1759
​James Collier and Daniel Race (jointly) ​1739-1751
​Thomas Madockes ​1699-1739
​Thomas Speed ​1694-1699
​John Kendrick ​1694