Skip to main content
  • This website sets cookies on your device. To find out more about how we use cookies please refer to our Privacy and Cookie Policy. By continuing to use the site, we’ll assume that you are content for us to set these on your device.
  • Close
Home > News and Publications > Ownership of the Bank of England

Ownership of the Bank of England

Subject/Request Details: Ownership of the Bank of England

Date Released: 15 September 2011

Disclosure: The information below was provided in answer to questions relating to the ownership of the Bank:
The Bank of England is a corporate body, though not a PLC, and was established by Royal Charter pursuant to the Bank of England Act 1694. Prior to nationalisation in 1946 the Bank was privately owned. It has been in public ownership since 1946, when it was nationalised pursuant to the Bank of England Act 1946. The 1946 Act provided for the transfer of the whole of the Bank’s capital stock of £14,553,000 to HM Treasury. Holders of Bank stock were compensated by the allocation of an amount of stock created by HM Treasury for the purpose, known as ‘3% Treasury Stock’. In accordance with the 1946 Act and the related Bank of England (Transfer of Stock) Order 1946, the capital stock is now held by the Treasury Solicitor on behalf of HM Treasury.