VISUAL ARTISTS NOMINATED BY THE PUBLIC DISCUSSED BY THE BANKNOTE CHARACTER ADVISORY COMMITTEE TO APPEAR ON THE NEXT £20 NOTE

The list below sets out a list of 67 characters that were discussed by the Banknote Character Advisory Committee at the first shortlisting meeting. Where characters were discussed both within a pair and individually they are named separately. The five characters that were on the final shortlist that the Committee presented to the Governor of the Bank of England are highlighted in red. J.M.W Turner was the character selected

J.M.W TURNER
Barbara Hepworth
Charlie Chaplin
Josiah Wedgwood
William Hogarth
Alec Issigonis
Alexander McQueen and Louise Wilson
Alfred Hitchcock
Alfred Hitchcock and Alma Reville
Alice Seeley Harris
Anthony Caro
Anthony Van Dyck
Augustus John and Gwen John
Augustus Pugin
Beatrix Potter
Bert Hardy
Capability Brown
Carol Reed
Charles Rennie Mackintosh and Margaret
Macdonald Mackintosh
Charles Rennie Mackintosh
Christopher Dresser
Clarice Cliff
Derek Jarman
Edward Johnston
Edwin Luytens
Elisabeth Frink
Elizabeth Wilbraham
Francis Bacon
George Stubbs
Gertrude Jekyll
Grinling Gibbons
Gwen John
Harry Beck
Henry Moore

Inigo Jones
Jacob Epstein
James McNeill Whistler
Jane Drew
John Adam and Robert Adam
John Baskerville
John Constable
John Everett Millais
John Grierson
John Ruskin
John Soane
Joseph Wright of Derby
Joshua Reynolds
Julia Margaret Cameron
L. S. Lowry
Lucian Freud
Michael Powell and Emeric Pressburger
Pauline Baynes
Richard Attenborough
Richard Hamilton
Ronald Moody
Samuel Palmer
Sarah Losh
Stanley Spencer
Thomas Gainsborough
Thomas Lawrence
Walter Richard Sickert
William Blake
William Caxton
William Henry Fox Talbot
William Kent
William Morris
William Morris and May Morris