

Central Bank Research Association



CALL FOR PAPERS

Fragmentation of International Trade and Finance and Risks from Rising Protectionism Moorgate Auditorium, Bank of England, London, UK
October 19-20, 2017

The first annual meeting of CEBRA's International Finance and Macroeconomics program is sponsored by the Bank of England. It will focus on all aspects of international financial and trade flows with emphasis on how they may respond to protectionist measures, actual and hypothetical. Of particular interest is the question of how global patterns of capital and trade flows might be altered by trade and capital restrictions. We welcome both theoretical and empirical contributions.

Specific topics could be related (but not restricted) to:

- Exchange rate response to trade and capital restrictions
- Global location/distribution of financial centers
- Patterns of trade diversion
- Current account deficit financing
- Effectiveness of trade and capital-account barriers
- Role of labour mobility in trade and financial integration
- Lessons from historical episodes of protectionism
- The distributional impact of trade and capital-account openness and restrictions
- Centrality of the dollar as the world currency
- Implications of fragmentation for financial stability
- Implications and risks from retrenchment from global regulatory coordination

Keynote speakers: Linda Goldberg, Maurice Obstfeld

Funding: Accommodation expenses will be covered for authors and discussants by the Bank of England. Participants are encouraged to fund their own travel expenses from other sources as only limited funding is available.

The submitting author must be a member of CEBRA. To join CEBRA free of charge, please visit: www.cebra.org/join/ The deadline for submissions is May 15, 2017. Please send drafts of completed papers to cebra_2017@bankofengland.co.uk . Authors of accepted papers will be informed by June 15. Please address any questions to cebra 2017@bankofengland.co.uk.

The workshop is hosted at the Bank of England's Moorgate Auditorium, 20 Moorgate, London EC2R 6DA.

Scientific committee:

David Aikman (BOE)
Galina Hale (FRBSF, CEBRA)
Gregory Thwaites (BOE)
Neeltje van Horen (BOE, CEBRA)