

# **Bank of England**

## **European System of Central Banks**

### **Research Cluster 2**

# International Macroeconomics, Fiscal Policy, Labour Economics, Competitiveness and EMU Governance

#### **Call for Papers**

### **Eighth Annual Workshop**

Rome, 17 - 18 October 2024

We are pleased to announce the Eighth Annual Workshop of ESCB Research Cluster 2, to be held at the **Banca d'Italia** in Rome, on 17 – 18 October 2024.

Research Cluster 2 focuses on issues related to international macroeconomics, fiscal policy, labour economics, competitiveness, and EMU governance. The Annual Workshop seeks to foster awareness and collaboration in research initiatives across institutions, and so submissions will be considered over a wide range of topics. Both theoretical and empirical contributions are welcome. The workshop is open to European System of Central Banks (ESCB) and Bank of England (BoE) researchers only.

Keynote speakers will be Isabelle Mejean (Science Po) and Claudio Michelacci (EIEF).

Relevant topics include, but are not restricted to:

- The future of global supply chains and the international transmission of shocks
- Business dynamism, competition and productivity, and the role of policy and legislation
- The future of work, automation, and the persistent effects of the pandemic on labour markets
- The impact of rising interest rates on the dynamics of sovereign and private debt
- Micro and macro productivity dynamics and determinants
- The interactions between monetary, fiscal and financial stability policies
- The future of the EMU governance, reforms and challenges to EMU deepening

#### **Submissions**

ESCB authors are invited to submit a draft paper or extended abstract, in PDF format, by **3 June 2024**, to <a href="mailto:cluster2escb@bancaditalia.it">cluster2escb@bancaditalia.it</a>. Please submit papers not yet accepted for publication.

ESCB researchers are welcome to express interest in participating in the workshop as discussants or observers, whether or not you are submitting a paper.

#### **Organisers**

Rana Sajedi (Bank of England) and Federico Cingano (Banca d'Italia)

#### Scientific Committee

Henrique Basso (Banco de España), Simon Bunel (Banque de France), Jacopo Cimadomo (ECB), Federico Cingano (Banca d'Italia), Mathias Klein (Riksbank), Vivien Lewis (Bundesbank), Noëmie Lisack (ECB), Gil Nogueira (Banco de Portugal), Alari Paulus (Eesti Pank), Filippos Petroulakis (Bank of Greece), Sophie Piton (Bank of England), Rana Sajedi (Bank of England).