

News release

Press Office

Threadneedle Street London EC2R 8AH T 020 7601 4411 F 020 7601 5460 press@bankofengland.co.uk www.bankofengland.co.uk

29 October 2001

Chairman and Deputy Chairman of the Appeal Committee of the Takeover Panel

The Governor of the Bank of England has appointed Sir Andrew Leggatt as Chairman of the Panel Appeal Committee and Sir Martin Nourse as Deputy Chairman with effect from 1 November 2001, in succession to Sir Michael Kerr and Sir Christopher Slade respectively who are retiring on 31 October.

The Governor expressed his warmest thanks to Sir Michael and Sir Christopher for their contribution to the Appeal Committee over the past eight years.

Notes to Editors

The Governor appoints the Chairman, Deputy Chairmen, and a number of independent members of the Panel on Takeovers and Mergers, and also the Chairman and Deputy Chairman of the Appeal Committee of the Panel.

Sir Andrew Leggatt (70) has been Chief Surveillance Commissioner since 1998. He was a Lord Justice of Appeal from 1990-97. He was called to the Bar in 1954.

Sir Martin Nourse (69) was a Lord Justice of Appeal from 1985-2001 and Vice-President of the Court of Appeal (Civil Division) 2000-01. He was called to the Bar in 1956.