Practitioner Panel Insurance Sub-committee

The Practitioner Panel Insurance Sub-committee is an independent statutory panel that represents the interests of practitioners from the insurance sector.


The Practitioner Panel Insurance Sub-committee has been formed to provide a dedicated forum to discuss the PRA’s policies and practices related to the insurance sector. The creation of the Sub-committee was announced by Sam Woods in February 2018, and met for the first time in July 2018. 

Information is shared between the Sub-committee and the Practitioner Panel, and the sub-committee contributes to the Practitioner Panel’s Annual report. When appropriate, members of the Sub-committee report informally to industry on its work. 

PDFTerms of reference 

The Sub-committee is established under the Financial Services and Markets Act 2000 to represent the interests of practitioners.

Sub-committee members have been nominated by trade associations and market participants, with the composition being broadly representative of how the PRA allocates its resources. Members are independent of the firm, trade association, or market participant, they are drawn from.

The Sub-committee meets approximately every four months and its members serve a three-year term which is renewable at our discretion. For future recruitment, we will consult the relevant trade association(s) and market participant(s) to secure nominations for new members.


Insurance Sub-committee members

The Sub-committee is chaired, on a rolling basis, by Tim Harris (Deputy Group CEO, Royal London), Helen Pickford (Deputy UK CFO & UK Life CFO Zurich) and Richard Ward (Executive chairman, Ardonagh Wholesale Group). All three are also members of the main Practitioner Panel and were nominated by the ABI.

The other panel members are listed below, grouped under the trade association or market participant that nominated them:

Association of British Insurers

Angela Darlington, Group CRO, Aviva


Hilary Weaver, CRO, Lloyd’s

Lloyd’s Market Association

Penny Shaw, Chief Risk Officer, Chaucer plc

Insurance & Reinsurance Legacy Association (IRLA) International 

Paul Corver, Group Head of M&A, Randall & Quilter Investment Holdings Ltd 

Association of Financial Mutuals 

Stuart Tragheim, CEO, Holloway Friendly

International Underwriting Association of London (IUA)

Tracey Hunt, Regional Manager for Energy, Allianz Global Corporate & Specialty

Institute and Faculty of Actuaries (IFoA) 

Andrew Chamberlain, Chair of Life Board, IFoA

This page was last updated 12 November 2018
Was this page useful?
Add your details...