Minutes of the Monetary Policy Committee Meeting held on 6 and 7 August 2008

The MPC voted 7-2 to maintain Bank Rate at 5.0%.
Published on 20 August 2008

The Governor invited the Committee to vote on the proposition that Bank Rate should be maintained at 5.0%. Seven members of the Committee (the Governor, Charles Bean, John Gieve, Kate Barker, Spencer Dale, Andrew Sentance and Paul Tucker) voted in favour of the proposition, and two (Tim Besley and David Blanchflower) voted against. Tim Besley preferred an increase of 25 basis points, and David Blanchflower preferred a reduction of 25 basis points. 

PDF Minutes of the meeting 

Other news