Chief Cashiers

Sarah John is the Bank of England’s Chief Cashier. She was appointed in 2018.


As Chief Cashier and Director of Notes, Sarah is responsible for making sure that our banknotes have the latest anti-counterfeiting technology, so that people can have confidence that the banknotes they use every day are genuine. The Chief Cashier must also make sure there are enough banknotes in circulation, so they work closely with financial institutions, banknote suppliers and retailers.

You can find the Chief Cashier’s signature on every one of our banknotes. Chief Cashiers sign banknotes on behalf of the Bank to demonstrate our promise to pay the value of the note for all time. Originally, Chief Cashiers’ signatures were handwritten on each banknote one by one: now the signature is added as part of the design and appears on each banknote that is printed.

The first Chief Cashier was John Kendrick. He was appointed in 1694, the year the Bank was founded.

Sarah John took up the role of Chief Cashier and Director of Notes on 1 June 2018.

Chief Cashiers from 1694 to the present day

Sarah John: 2018 to present
Victoria Cleland: 2014 to 2018

Chris Salmon: 2011 to 2014
Andrew Bailey : 2004 to 2011
Merlyn Lowther: 1999 to 2003
Graham Kentfield: 1991 to 1998
Malcolm Gill: 1988 to 1991
David Somerset: 1980 to 1988
John Page: 1970 to 1980
John Fforde: 1966 to 1970
Jasper Hollom : 1962 to 1966
Leslie O'Brien: 1955 to 1962
Percival Beale 1949 to 1955
Kenneth Peppiatt: 1934 to 1949
Basil Catterns: 1929 to 1934
Patrick Mahon : 1925 to 1929
Ernest Harvey : 1918 to 1925
Gordon Nairne: 1902 to 1918
Horace Bowen: 1893 to 1902
Frank May: 1873 to 1893
George Forbes: 1866 to 1873
William Miller: 1864 to 1866
Matthew Marshall: 1835 to 1864
Thomas Rippon: 1829 to 1835
Henry Hase: 1807 to 1829
Abraham Newland: 1778 to 1807
Charles Jewson: 1775 to 1777
Daniel Race: 1759 to 1775
Daniel Race and Elias Simes (jointly): 1751 to 1759
James Collier and Daniel Race (jointly): 1739 to 1751
Thomas Madockes: 1699 to 1739
Thomas Speed: 1694 to 1699
John Kendrick: 1694

Sarah John

Chief Cashier

This page was last updated 17 February 2023

Give your feedback