Professor Silvana Tenreyro appointed to the Monetary Policy Committee

​The Chancellor of the Exchequer has announced the appointment of Professor Silvana Tenreyro as an external member of the Monetary Policy Committee (MPC).
Published on 19 June 2017
Silvana will be appointed for a three year term which will take effect from 7 July 2017.

Silvana will replace Kristin Forbes, who comes to the end of her term of office on 30 June 2017.

HM Treasury's press release

Commenting on the announcement, Mark Carney, Governor of the Bank of England, said: 

“I am delighted to welcome Silvana Tenreyro to the Monetary Policy Committee and am very much looking forward to working with her. Her extensive and varied academic experience – on the monetary transmission mechanism, the dynamics of productivity, trade, housing issues as well as wage dynamics, to name just a few – will be invaluable to the Committee as it seeks to promote the good of the people of the United Kingdom through maintaining monetary stability.”

Other news

Give your feedback

Was this page useful?
Add your details...