Committee of Treasury Minutes 1779-1991

The origins of the Committee of Treasury can be traced back to 1694 when the Court of Directors appointed a committee ‘to attend the Lords of the Treasury’.

By 1764 it was known as the ‘Committee of Treasury’. It was formed of the most senior Directors at the Bank and as such it became very influential, often discussing important matters in greater detail than the Court.

Although no minutes survive before 1779, the Committee of Treasury played a significant role at the Bank for just under 300 years until it was discontinued in February 1992.

In addition to the minutes listed below, there is a volume that compiles reports from the Committee to the Governor and Deputy Governor for the period 1797-1832. It is accompanied by an index.

This page was last updated 31 January 2023