UK Notes and Coins

​The pound sterling is the official currency in the United Kingdom.


The Bank of England is the UK's central bank. It issues the UK's banknotes.

Coins are manufactured and issued by the Royal Mint.

Scottish and Northern Ireland banknotes are also available in the UK. These are issued by three banks in Scotland and three banks in Northern Ireland. The Bank of England regulates the issuance of these banknotes. 

The Northern Ireland note-issuing banks have issued polymer notes as follows:

  • Bank of Ireland and Ulster Bank each issued polymer £5, £10 and £20 notes, and Ulster Bank has also issued a polymer £50 note. Danske Bank has issued polymer £10 and £20 notes. 

Other note-issuing authorities

The Isle of Man, Jersey and Guernsey also issue banknotes in the British Islands. For more information, contact:
The Treasury
Isle of Man Government
Bucks Road
Isle of Man IM1 3PX
States of Jersey Treasury
States Treasury
Cyril Le Marquand House
PO Box 353
St Helier
Jersey JE4 8UL
States of Guernsey
The Charles Frossard House
PO Box 43
La Charroterie
St Peter Port
Guernsey GY1 1FH

This page was last updated 31 January 2023