Capital Requirement Regulation permissions and waivers under Article 28 and 29 issued to UK building societies during the period from 1 January 2014 to 30 November 2016

We publish details of a selection of requests made under the Freedom of Information Act 2000, and the information we disclose in response.
Date: 13 April 2017


The Capital Requirements Regulation (‘CRR’) came into effect on 1 January 2014. CRR Permissions related to the requirements in Articles 28 and 29 would be issued under Article 26(3) of the CRR (under the powers set out in HM Treasury (HMT) SI 2013/3115 Capital Requirements Regulations 2013, section 40-41).  The Prudential Regulation Authority (‘PRA’) has not issued any CRR Permissions under Article 26(3) to building societies during the period from 1 January 2014 to 30 November 2016.

The other CRR Articles relating to capital instruments that CRR Permissions are issued under are Articles 26(2), 77 and 78.  The PRA has issued CRR Permissions under these Articles,  see below for a list of building societies to which these were granted in the time period specified.

List of building societies granted CRR permissions by the PRA under Articles 26(2), 77 and 78 between 1 January 2014 and 30 November 2016
Coventry Building Society
Ipswich Building Society
Leeds Building Society
Newcastle Building Society
Nottingham Building Society
Progressive Building Society
Skipton Building Society
Yorkshire Building Society
The PRA has not issued a waiver or modification (under the powers set out in section 138A of FSMA) of a PRA rulebook rule relating to capital requirements to a building society in the period specified.