Minutes of the MPC Meeting held on 5 and 6 May 1999

The MPC voted 5 - 4 to maintain Bank Rate at 5.25%.
Published on 19 May 1999

The Governor invited the Committee to vote on the proposition that the Bank’s repo rate be maintained at 5.25%. Five members of the Committee (the Governor, Mervyn King, Alan Budd, Charles Goodhart and John Vickers) voted for the proposition. Four members of the Committee (David Clementi, Willem Buiter, DeAnne Julius and Ian Plenderleith) voted against, preferring a reduction of 25 basis points.

PDFMinutes of the meeting

Other news