Monetary Policy Committee Reappointment

Spencer Dale, Executive Director, Monetary Analysis and Statistics, and Chief Economist at the Bank of England, has been reappointed for a further three-year term as a member of the Monetary Policy Committee with effect from 31 May 2010.
Published on 19 February 2010

As provided for by the Bank of England Act 1998, Mr Dale has been reappointed to the MPC by Mervyn King, Governor of the Bank of England, after consultation with the Chancellor of the Exchequer. Mr Dale’s current term on the MPC expires on 31 May 2010. Mr Dale was first appointed to the MPC on 1 July 2008. The length of Mr Dale's first term reflects his completion of Charlie Bean's 3-year term as Executive Director on his appointment to Deputy Governor for Monetary Policy. The Court of the Bank of England was informed on 11 February 2010 of Mr Dale’s reappointment.

PDFPress release

Other news