Announcement of new Chair and Non-Executive Directors of Court

The Government has today announced that Bradley Fried has been appointed Chair of the Court of the Bank of England, with effect from 1 July 2018.
Published on 31 May 2018

The Government has also announced two non-executive director appointments to Court. Diana Noble and Anne Glover will join the Bank’s governing body as non-executive directors, replacing Tim Frost, who will step down on 31 May 2018, and Bradley Fried.

The Governor, Mark Carney said:

“I am delighted that Brad Fried has agreed to take on this vital and demanding role for the Bank.  He will build on the strong foundations established by Anthony Habgood over the past four years.  Anthony overhauled the Bank’s governance and improved the workings and transparency of Court, leaving behind him a body that is well positioned to guide the Bank for years to come.

I also welcome the appointment of Diana Noble and Anne Glover to Court.  The depth and range of their private sector experience will be major assets to Court’s oversight of the Bank’s activities. I would also like to thank Tim Frost for his many contributions to Court and its Committees over the past six years.” 

Diana Noble is a non-executive director at the Business Growth Fund, a position she has held since 2016. She was CEO of CDC Group plc between 2011 and 2017, and Executive Vice President of the Clinton Foundation’s Health Access Initiative. She began her career in Private Equity as a partner at Schroder Ventures which became Permira. 

Anne Glover is co-founder and CEO of Amadeus Capital Partners Limited, a position she has held since 1997. Prior to this, she was a founder of Calderstone Capital Ltd, and was Chief Operating Officer of Virtuality Group plc. She is a Member of both the Council for Science and Technology, and London Business School’s Private Equity Institute Advisory Board. She holds an MPPM from the Yale School of Management, and is an Honorary Fellow of the Royal Academy of Engineering. In 2006, she was awarded a CBE for Services to Business.

Dido Harding, Don Robert and Dorothy Thompson have also been reappointed as non-executive directors for a further term. 

The release from HM Government can be found here.

Give your feedback

Was this page useful?
Add your details...