Additional Board member biographies


Steve Bell

Steve Bell is an Independent Member of the RTGS/CHAPS Board and its Risk Committee. 

Steve has over 30 years’ experience in financial services, including 21 years as a Technology Risk Partner at EY. He was Service Quality Leader for EY’s FS Advisory business where he operated as first-line risk management leader and a member of the Advisory Leadership team driving strategy for the business from 2013 to 2020. He was also the Quality & Risk Management leader for the UK FS Advisory practice from 2012 to 2020. In parallel, his client work as a Partner included advisory and auditor assignments across the financial services sector on areas such as IT change programmes, resilience, cyber security and regulatory investigations.

Steve is currently a trustee and Chair of the Audit and Risk Committee at Action For Children. He is also the Chair of Trustees at The Country Trust.

Kevin Brown

Kevin Brown is an Independent Member of the RTGS/CHAPS Board and its Risk Committee and Chair of Strategic Advisory Forum.

Kevin has 35 years of experience in banking. He was Global Head of Transaction Services for RBS. Kevin had direct involvement in the design and development of the UK’s Faster Payments Service and became the inaugural Chair of the UK Faster Payments Scheme from 2011 to 2013. He was also on the inaugural Advisory Panel for the UK Payment Systems Regulator until mid-2015.  He is a male ally of the European Women Payments Network encouraging greater diversity in Payments.

Kevin is currently a member of the UK Financial Conduct Authority (FCA) Regulatory Decisions Committee and also a member of the UK Payment Systems Regulator Enforcement Decisions Committee.

Lazaro Campos

Lazaro Campos is the Senior Independent Member of the Bank of England's RTGS/CHAPS Board.  In addition, he is a member of the Bank of England’s Court of Directors’ RTGS Renewal Committee. 

Lazaro has over 30 years of experience in global finance. He served as the Chief Executive Officer of SWIFT, the global banking network, from April 2007 until July 2012. Before that he held diverse executive and management positions at SWIFT. While at SWIFT Lazaro was involved in the formulation of CPMI’s (former CPSS) Principles for Financial Market Infrastructures. 

Lazaro is co-founder and MD of FinTechStage, a company that specialises in financial services innovation with programmes around the world. He is Chair of the Board of The ID Co, a fintech start-up offering a business-to-business Software as a Service open bank data platform; a Non-Executive Director at Starling Bank, a challenger neo-bank in the UK; and also a Non-Executive Director and Advisor to Management of Payoneer Inc, a global business payment platform.

Michael D’Souza

Michael D’Souza is an Independent Member of the Bank of England’s RTGS/CHAPS Board and is Chair of its Risk Committee.  In addition, he is a member of the Bank of England’s Court of Directors’ RTGS Renewal Committee. 

Michael is also an independent senior advisor at the Bank’s Prudential Regulation Authority (PRA). In this role he focuses on corporate governance and risk management across the UK financial services sector. He chairs or acts as an independent member of a range of formal PRA Senior Management Regime interview boards bringing an informed and experienced practitioner's perspective to decision making. In addition, Michael is the independent Chair of the Regulatory Arbitrage and Market Consequences Committee and an independent member of the Bank’s Resolvability Assessment Framework Steering Committee.

Michael has over 30 years of experience in investment banking having held senior executive positions in the UK, USA, Canada and Japan.  Michael was a Managing Director and member of the board of directors of Merrill Lynch International, a global broker-dealer, and was also Chair of the board Risk Committee. Prior to this, he was Chief Executive Officer of Merrill Lynch Capital Markets Bank, which managed the firm’s derivatives and foreign exchange business internationally.

Michael is currently an Independent Non-Executive Director of the Council of King’s College, University of London. As part of this role, he is Chair of the Finance Committee and a member of the Nomination Committee and Remuneration Committee.

Rebecca Jackson

Rebecca Jackson is an Independent Member of the RTGS/CHAPS Board and its Risk Committee and currently Director of Authorisations, RegTech and International Supervision at the Bank of England. Rebecca joined the Bank in 1998, moving to the Financial Services Authority at its inception and subsequently returning to the Bank with the establishment of the Prudential Regulation Authority. Rebecca has undertaken a variety of roles, including leading the supervision of banks, investment banks, securities firms and trading venues, establishing the strategic goals of the Bank and ensuring that they are appropriately resourced, managing the UK’s and the Bank’s foreign exchange reserves, negotiating European financial services legislation and developing prudential policy.

Michael Jones

Mike Jones is Head of Market Services Division. He has responsibility for the Real-Time Gross Settlement (RTGS) system and the CHAPS payment scheme. He is a member of the RTGS/CHAPS Board. 

Mike has undertaken a wide variety of roles across our operational and policy areas over the last 20 years, including acting as an advisor on operations in the International Banking Directorate of the PRA (2015-16) and running the RTGS system (2014-15). 

Mike has a BA and MPhil in History from Birmingham University.

This page was last updated 24 January 2022

Give your feedback

Was this page useful?
Add your details...