Practitioner Panel

The Practitioner Panel is an independent statutory panel that represents the interests of practitioners from the areas of the financial industry that we regulate.


We have a statutory duty to maintain effective arrangements to consult practitioners and consider their representations. The panel will consider our policies and practices and provide input to the Prudential Regulation Committee to help it meet its statutory and operational objectives.

PDFTerms of reference

PDFPractitioner Panel Annual Report 2018

The panel is required under the Financial Services and Markets Act 2000.

The panel membership is representative of PRA approved persons. Members have been nominated by trade associations, with the composition being broadly representative of how the PRA allocates its resources. Members are independent of the firm and trade association they are drawn from.

The panel meets approximately every eight weeks and its members serve a three-year term, which is renewable at our discretion. For future recruitment, we will consult the relevant trade association(s) to secure nominations for new members.

Practitioner Panel members

The panel has elected its own Chair, Martin Gilbert (Chief Executive, Standard Life Aberdeen) and Deputy Chair, Ashraf Piranie (Finance and Operations Director, West Bromwich Building Society).

The other panel members are listed below, along with the trade association that nominated them:

UK Finance

  • Francesca McDonagh, Group Chief Executive, Bank of Ireland
  • Nathan Bostock, Chief Executive Officer, Santander UK
  • James Bardrick, UK Country Officer, Citibank

Association of British Insurers

  • Richard Ward, Executive chairman, Ardonagh Wholesale Group
  • Tim Harris, Deputy Group CEO and Group Finance Director, Royal London
  • Helen Pickford, Deputy UK CFO & UK Life CFO Zurich

Building Societies Association

  • Victoria Stubbs, Chief Risk Officer, Cambridge Building Society
  • Ashraf Piranie, Finance and Operations Director, West Bromwich Building Society

Investment Management Association

  • Martin Gilbert, Chief Executive, Standard Life Aberdeen

Association of Foreign Banks

  • Bill Smith, Managing Director of EMEA for BMO Financial Group


  • Mary-Anne Daly, CEO, Cazenove UK

Mainland UK Credit Unions

  • Robert Kelly, CEO, Association of British Credit Unions Ltd

The Institute of Chartered Accountants in England and Wales/The Institute of Chartered Accountants of Scotland

  • Mark Rhys, Banking Partner, Deloitte

NI Credit Unions

  • Martin Fisher, Regulatory and Legal Officer for Northern Ireland, ILCU
This page was last updated 07 September 2018
Was this page useful?
Add your details...