Professor Silvana Tenreyro reappointed to the Monetary Policy Committee

The Chancellor, Rishi Sunak, today announced that Professor Silvana Tenreyro will be appointed for a second three-year term as an external member of the Monetary Policy Committee (MPC). Her second term will start from 5 July 2020.
Published on 27 March 2020

Andrew Bailey, Governor of the Bank of England, said: “I am delighted that Silvana Tenreyro has agreed to serve another three years on the Monetary Policy Committee. Silvana’s insights and contribution to the Committee will be hugely valuable as we navigate the current economic challenges and help to promote the good of the people of the United Kingdom. I very much look forward to continuing to work with her.”

As an external member of the MPC, Silvana will hold one of nine votes to decide the future path of UK monetary policy. The MPC meets eight times a year to set monetary policy in line with the objectives set out in its remit. The primary objective is to ensure price stability.

Professor Tenreyro joined the MPC on 5 July 2017.

HMT announcement

Give your feedback

Was this page useful?
Add your details...